Constituent Colleges under Central Agricultural University, Imphal

The Central Agricultural University has been established by an act of Parliament, the Central Agricultural University Act, 1992 (No.40 of 1992). The Act came into effect on 26thJanuary, 1993 with the issue of notification by the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Govt. of India. The University became functional with the joining of first Vice-Chancellor on 13thSeptember, 1993. The jurisdiction of the University extends to all seven North-Eastern Hill States viz., Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura, with headquarters at Imphal in Manipur. The mission of the University is to be a centre of excellence in teaching, research and extension education in the field of agriculture and allied sectors. The University aims to develop sustainable farming systems for improving productivity and profitability in agriculture and allied sectors and also train the farmers and extension functionaries for the effective dissemination of advanced agricultural technologies in North-East India. The University acts as an important link in the chain for converting agriculture and allied vocations into profitable enterprises and offering food and nutritional security for the people of North-East region. To realize the above mission, University established earlier seven colleges and three Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) in the six states of North-East India and offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in agriculture and allied sciences. Like other Agricultural Universities, Central Agricultural University, Imphal has integrated programmes of teaching, research and extension education.

As per the mandate, the university has established different constituent colleges, namely: (i) College of Agriculture (Imphal, Manipur), (ii) College of Fisheries (Agartala, Tripura), (iii) College of Home science (Tura, Meghalaya), (iv) College of Horticulture & Forestry (Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh), (v) College of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry (Aizawl, Mizoram), (vi) College of Agricultural Engineering and Post-Harvest Technology (Gangtok, Sikkim) and (vii) College of Post-Graduate Studies (Umiam, Meghalaya). Except for the College of Agriculture (erstwhile Manipur Agricultural College, Imphal), other constituent colleges of University came into existence after the establishment of University. Apart from these, university is having three Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) (i) Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Imphal East, Manipur (ii) Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Selesih, Mizoram and (iii) Krishi Vigyan Kendra, East Siang, Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh. Recently, six more Colleges have been added. Thus, university has a total of thirteen (13) constituent colleges spread all over the seven North East Hill states of the country. Name of the constituent colleges and respective states where they are located have been given as under:

Sl.No. Name of constituent colleges Location
1 College of Agriculture Imphal, Manipur
2 College of Fisheries Agartala, Tripura
3 College of Home Science Tura, Meghalaya
4 College of Horticulture & Forestry Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh
5 College of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry Aizawl, Mizoram
6 College of Agricultural Engineering & Post-Harvest Technology Gangtok,Sikkim
7 College of Post-Graduate Studies Shillong,Meghalaya
8 College of Agriculture Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh
9 College of Horticulture Bermiok, Sikkim
10 College of Food Technology Imphal, Manipur
11 College of Agriculture Kyrdemkulai, Meghalaya
12 College of Horticulture Thenzawl, Mizoram
13 College of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry Jalukie, Nagaland

The College of Agriculture, Central Agricultural University, Pasighat has been established under the aegis of Central Agricultural University, Imphal, Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Government of India in response to letters from Government of Arunachal Pradesh, No. ED/HE/OLG-430/2013 dated April 29, 2013 & D.O N.AGRI/INF/CACP/2013-1 dated May 25, 2013 with following objectives:

  1. To impart educations in different branches of Agriculture & its allied sciences
  2. To further the advancement of learning by undertaking research in agriculture and its allied subjects
  3. To undertake the basic and strategic research in agriculture relevant to the need of state
  4. To undertake programme of agricultural extension education education in the state
  5. To undertake such other activities as it may deem fit from time to time

The Government of Arunachal Pradesh has recently transferred approx. 86.2 acres of land (GTC) at PAsighat to Central Agricultural University which is approx. 2km from College of Horticulture and Forestry, Pasighat campus. The land possession activities are under progress and farms & infrastructure developmental works have been started with the existing resource available with College of Horticulture and Forestry, Pasighat.

The first flagship academic programme of College of Agriculture i.e., 4 Year B.Sc. Agriculture degree programme has started from current academic session 2013-14 [July 01, 2013 – June 30, 2014]. All the existing facilities available with the College of Horticulture and Forestry, Pasighat shall be utilized during the initial years to cater the needs of College of Agriculture.

Location The Agriculture College has started at present in the campus of College of Horticulture and Forestry, CAU, Pasighat. Spread over an area of 145 acres the College is located on the bank of mighty river Siang. It is approximately 3km away from Pasighat town towards North West direction and about 300km from Itanagar, the state capital of Arunachal Pradesh. The College is situated at 280 06` N and 950 23` longitude at an elevation of 157 msl.